House History – ‘The Julian’

author

To be published: 2027.
A4 size c. 200 page paperback.
Numerous black and white and coloured illustrations.
ISBN13: TBA Price: c. £25.

‘La Julianysinne’ was given towards the endowment of Sherborne Almshouse by Margaret Gough in 1437 and has remained in Almshouse ownership ever since. Serving originally as an inn or hospice for travellers, the Julian has fulfilled many purposes since then, including that of the town’s first public library for a period after World War II. For many years the property was thought locally to be the chapel of St Thomas-a-Becket, but this was conclusively disproved in 1949 by local historian Joseph Fowler.

This book examines and describes the architectural development of the building, linking it wherever possible to the stories of the owners and the occupiers. It contains a series of appendices, including transcripts of much of the original source material used.

Discover more from Three Pigeons Press

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading